Browse Articles
Select a Product
null Support Directory
Browse all null articles. (Last Updated )
No articles found.
Search Results
No articles found.
Frontline: Managing Content When a User Leaves Your Team
Article Last Updated Sep 10, 2026
This article applies to:
When a user leaves your team, Frontline empowers you to choose what happens to their content, helping you maintain control of your intellectual property. Here’s how it works.
All content a Frontline user creates remains with the subscription, so it must be transferred to another team member before the user leaves the team. Note: Content can only be transferred from one Frontline user to another Frontline user on the same subscription. It can’t be transferred to an Articulate 360 AI creator.
We’ve outlined the process and each option step by step below.
- Remove the User from Your Team
- Transfer Their Content to Another Team Member
- Keep the Content Unowned Within the Subscription
Remove the User from Your Team
To get started with removing a user from your team, go to https://id.articulate.com/redirect/account and sign in with your Articulate ID email address and password. Then, click Team on the left side of the screen and follow the steps below. (You must have either primary admin or admin permissions to manage team members.)
- Click their name from the list to open the Edit permissions sidebar.
- Members with primary admin or admin permissions can remove multiple users at once by selecting the checkboxes beside their names. Note that content created by the selected users may only be transferred to a single member.
- Click the Remove from subscription link at the bottom of the sidebar.
- Click the Transfer to field to select a team member as the new owner of the removed user's shared content. You can type the first few letters of the recipient’s name to filter the list. Or, if you’d prefer not to transfer their content to anyone, select None - Do not transfer content to keep the content in an “unowned” state.
- If the person you want to transfer content to hasn’t joined the team yet, invite them to the team and assign Frontline user permissions first before removing the old user. You can transfer content to them when they accept your invitation to join the team.
- Not sure which to choose? Jump to the following sections to find out what happens when you:
- Click Remove user to complete the process.
Transfer Their Content to Another Team Member
To remove a user and retain access to their content, click the Transfer to field and select another Frontline user on your team, as shown below.
What happens when you transfer the removed user’s content to someone else?
- The user you removed from the team receives an email notification confirming their removal.
- The new owner receives an email notification about the content transferred to them. They have full control over the transferred content. They can find the transferred content by going to Library in the sidebar. To filter the library to show only the previous owner’s content, click Shortcuts at the top of the library and select the folder named after the previous owner.
- The original user’s Quick Share links continue to work, so your team can still view the training materials. Analytics also carry over to the new owner.
Who can you transfer content to?
You can transfer content to any single team member with Frontline creator permissions. Content can’t be divided among multiple users.
The new owner must be a member of your team with Frontline creator permissions. If they haven’t joined your team yet, invite them to the team and assign creator permissions first before removing the old user. You can transfer content to them once they’ve accepted your invitation to join the team.
Does all the content from the original user get transferred?
Yes, all of the original user’s Frontline content gets transferred to the new owner. The new owner can find the transferred content by going to Library in the sidebar, clicking Shortcuts, and selecting the folder named after the previous owner.
Keep the Content Unowned Within the Subscription
To remove a user without transferring their content to someone else, click the Transfer to field and select None - do not transfer content, as shown below.

What happens when you don’t transfer the content to someone else?
- The user you removed from the team receives an email notification confirming their removal.
- We will keep their content in an unowned state until you’re ready to transfer it to another team member.
- If you later decide to transfer the unowned content to a Frontline user on your team, have the member with primary admin permissions contact us with the following information, and we’ll transfer the unowned content to the new owner:
- Subscription number or name
- Email address of the user that was removed from the team
- Email address of the new user who will receive the removed user's content