Browse Articles
Select a Product
null Support Directory
Browse all null articles. (Last Updated )
No articles found.
Search Results
No articles found.
Rise 360: Modifying and Understanding Video Playback for Learners
Article Last Updated Oct 6, 2026
This article applies to:
While being able to speed up or skip videos altogether can be convenient for learners, there are times when your video content in Rise 360 must be watched. Whether your video conveys crucial information or is required for compliance, knowing how to control how learners play videos can ensure your training meets its goals. Also important is knowing how learners experience your video content, regardless of the playback settings. Keep reading to learn more.
Control Learner Video Playback with Settings
Rise 360 offers video playback settings that prevent learners from skipping or speeding through content and require them to watch it completely before proceeding. Applied at the individual block or content settings levels, these settings offer different control of video playback.
Disable Forward Seeking in Video Blocks
By default, learners can fast-forward through a video if they choose. However, in standalone video blocks only, you can disable that ability. Here’s how:
- Hover over a video block, then click the Format icon that appears in the formatting toolbar.
- Deselect Allow forward seeking.
When forward seeking is disabled, learners can rewind any portion of the video they've already watched, but they won’t be able to move the seekbar forward to skip ahead. (On mobile devices, it may appear that learners can drag the seekbar forward, but the video won't actually skip ahead.)
Learners should be able to fast-forward the video once they've watched it in its entirety, depending on how your content is hosted:
- LMS: Learners can fast-forward after watching the entire video, even if they close the course and launch it again later.
- Web: Learners can fast-forward after watching the entire video, only until they close the course. If they close the course and relaunch it, forward seeking is again disabled until they watch the entire video once more.
Note: This setting prevents learners from fast-forwarding through a video. It does not prevent them from skipping over a lesson containing a video without watching it. Read on to learn how to require learners to complete a lesson, including any video content.
Require Learners to Watch Videos Before Moving On
When you need to ensure that learners are watching your video content, you can combine disabling forward seeking with restricting navigation at the content settings level. Applied together, these settings require learners to watch video blocks before they can move on with the training. Here’s how:
- Disable forward seeking as described above.
- Click the Theme icon (for courses, this is available on the course outline).
- Select Navigation.
- Turn off the Navigation setting or turn on Restrict navigation so learners can’t skip lessons.
- Click Save.
- Return to your content and add a continue block after your video block. Set the Completion Type to require learners to complete the block(s) above the continue block.
Disable Playback Speed Choice
By default, learners can select a video playback speed that’s comfortable to them, from 0.25x up to 2x, by clicking the icon to the right of the time remaining. However, you can disable that ability at the content settings level if needed. Here’s how:
- Click the Theme icon (for courses, this is available on the course outline).
- Select Navigation.
- At the bottom, turn off Video Playback Speed.
- Click Save.
Note: Disabling playback speed may make your content less accessible for some learners.
Understand the Learner Experience
When you use settings to control video playback, learners can still control other aspects of their viewing experience, including the ability to stop and restart, or to pop video content out of training while watching. Here’s what they can expect:
Automatic Learner Bookmarks
When a learner closes or navigates away from in-progress video content, a bookmark is automatically added. The next time they navigate to the content, they just have to press Play to resume where they left off. Progress is saved:
- Every 15 seconds (progress between 0-15 seconds isn't saved)
- When the learner scrubs to a new position (this restarts the 15-second timer)
- When the learner pauses the video (this restarts the 15-second timer)
- When the learner watches a video to the end (when they close the course and return, the video will start from the beginning)
Note: Progress is saved as a percentage of the video watched rather than a specific timestamp. As a result, the learner's saved position may not be exact.
Picture-in-Picture Videos
Learners can play videos using picture-in-picture mode in browsers that support it, such as Google Chrome and Firefox. Picture-in-picture mode moves the video to a floating window so learners can watch it and scroll through lesson content at the same time.