Browse Articles

Select a Product

null Support Directory

Browse all null articles. (Last Updated )

No articles found.

Search Results

No articles found.

Articulate 360 AI Teams and Frontline: Understanding Content Ownership and Transfer Scenarios

Article Last Updated Oct 23, 2026

This article applies to:

As an admin, you play a key role in managing your team’s content. Teams change, but the need to understand content ownership and access doesn’t. Read on to learn how ownership determines access to online content and how to transfer content when team members leave or subscriptions change.

Content Ownership

Let’s start with the basics of content ownership and whether content is considered personal or shared.

Articulate 360 AI Content

Personal: The online content your users create with Articulate 360 AI is owned by the subscription. However, it is also linked to their Articulate ID (AID) and considered their personal content. This personal content includes:

  • Rise 360 courses, microlearning, and question banks in the private directory
  • Unshared Rise 360 block templates 
  • Review 360 items and folders in the private directory

Shared: If your users share their content with other authors or create content in team folders, it becomes shared content. That means it can’t be moved from the subscription until it’s made personal again. Shared content includes:

Frontline Content

Unlike Articulate 360 AI, Frontline doesn’t include personal content or Review 360 items. Instead, kits and the artifacts created from them are associated with individual Frontline users and organized in the Frontline library.

Transfer Scenarios

Since the subscription owns shared content, changes in team membership and subscriptions may affect access to the content created. Here are a few scenarios where content is transferred or unlinked due to changes in subscription.

Users Leave the Team

If you need to remove a user from the subscription because they have left, you must transfer their content to another team member.

For Articulate 360 AI, you must transfer the departing user’s shared content. You must also choose whether to include their personal content in the transfer or let them keep it. If you want to transfer the content to a new user and there’s no open license, you can temporarily assign the new user group manager permissions or keep the content unowned until a license is available. Learn more.

For Frontline, all of a user’s content stays with the subscription. You can transfer it to another Frontline user or leave it unowned until you’re ready to transfer it. Learn more.

For hybrid subscriptions, you can transfer content only between users of the same product. For example, you can’t transfer content between a Frontline user and an Articulate 360 AI creator, or vice versa.

Users Move to Another Subscription

For Articulate 360 AI, a user’s personal content stays with their Articulate ID when they move to another subscription. They can turn any shared content they own into personal content by unsharing or transferring it to their private directory before they leave the current subscription.

When moving a user to another subscription, you can allow them to maintain access to their personal content. Here’s how:

  1. Shared content won’t transfer to a new subscription until it’s made personal again. Determine whether the shared content should remain on the current subscription or move with the user to the new subscription. If it needs to move, the user must make that content personal before the removal process. In the new subscription, they can share that personal content with other authors or create content in team folders.
  2. Remove the user from the current subscription, then uncheck the Include personal content option when prompted.
  3. Invite the user to the new subscription. They’ll regain access to their personal content once they accept the invitation and join the new team.

For Frontline, all of a user’s content stays with the subscription and doesn’t move with them to another subscription. Before you remove the user, transfer their content to another Frontline user or leave it unowned.

If you need to move a large number of users to another subscription, contact success@articulate.com. We will help coordinate the process to ensure a smooth transition.

Subscriptions Merge

Having one subscription for everyone on your team lets you fully utilize Articulate 360’s collaborative features. You can combine subscriptions with Articulate 360 AI creators and Frontline users. The combined subscription can include both user types. Contact us using this form if you want to combine subscriptions. We’ll set everything up and help move your team’s content (private and shared), including Frontline kits and artifacts, to ensure all your team’s content stays intact. Read this article to learn what happens when merging subscriptions and how to complete the process.

Subscriptions Reduce Licenses

If needed, you can request a license reduction for your subscription. However, you may risk losing content if you wait for the system to remove the creators automatically upon renewal. To maintain access to private and shared content, make sure to free up the number of licenses being reduced before the renewal date. Learn more about reducing licenses in a subscription. (For Articulate 360 AI trials, read this article when buying fewer licenses than the number of users in your trial.)

Subscriptions Expire or are Cancelled

If you cancel your subscription or let it expire, any personal content stays with an individual’s Articulate ID, but shared content remains with the original subscription. We’ll keep that content on our servers for up to six months after your paid subscription expires or your free trial ends. 

If you decide to resubscribe within 60 days, reach out to success@articulate.com. We can help you reinstate your existing subscription so you can pick up where you left off. If it’s after 60 days, you’ll need to purchase a new subscription. Learn more about reactivating or replacing a lapsed subscription.

If you do decide to cancel or let your subscription expire permanently, read this article to understand what happens and what you need to do before you cancel. Regardless, we’ll keep your content on our servers for up to six months after your paid subscription expires. We’d be sad to see you go, but we’ll be here if you need us or want to renew your subscription later.